FREE PATTERN! Humpty Dumpty Puzzle Doll

Meet Mr. Dumpty, the clumsy, wall-sitting Eggman!

He’s the newest addition to my crochet doll collection, but he’s not just an adorable ami.

Humpty_Dumpty_3

He’s a break-apart puzzle doll!!

You crochet six different pieces that fit together to make the distinguished Mr. Dumpty. Set him on the perch of your choice — the edge of a table or chair — and then watch him fall to the ground and break apart.

Humpty_Dumpty_5

Kids will enjoy the challenge of fitting Humpty’s body parts back together without making him fall. It’s like fairy tale Jenga!

It doesn’t take a whole lot of skill to fit H.D. together. Even little kids can get the hang of it — without needing help from all the king’s horses and all the king’s men.

Humpty_Dumpty_1 If you’re still not sure what I mean by “puzzle doll,” watch this little video I put together. It shows how to assemble all six parts.

Download the FREE pattern here!

The Big D has a long and storied history in English verse and prose, including a very pompous (and hilarious) appearance in Lewis Carroll’s Through the Looking Glass. I must admit, even I can’t manhandle verbs like the H-man. I must start paying them a salary like he does. Humpty Dumpty is also the character who introduces Alice to the notion of unbirthdays — although he reveals in the process that he’s a very poor mathematician.

Humpty_Dumpty_6

I chose to crochet him because he’s a classic nursery rhyme and fairy tale character, and look how cute he goes with Alice.

Download the FREE pattern here!

The PDF has a ton of photos and links, which would be impractical to duplicate in this blog post. Trust me, it’s MUCH easier to just download the PDF. There is a two-page printer-friendly version of the pattern included.

Here’s all you need to make this cute little guy:

  • F hook
  • Yarn needle
  • 12 mm solid black doll eyes
  • Embroidery floss in black
  • Embroidery needle
  • Polyester stuffing
  • Worsted weight yarn in four colors. I used white, blue, red, black, and mustard yellow

IMPORTANT! Read the Project Notes on page 2 of the PDF. There are important instructions regarding stuffing. Normally, you should stuff amigurumi firmly, but with H.D., you shouldn’t or else the pieces will bulge and won’t fit together properly. Read. The. Note.

I hope you enjoy making this fun toy! Please let me know if you find any errors in the pattern. If you’re on Ravelry, link your photo to the project page so I can see how cute your Dumpty is!

Download the FREE pattern here!

QUESTION OF THE DAY

When is your next unbirthday celebration?

Linking up here…
Oombawka

Tuesday Pin-spiration Link Party

Moogly HOHD
21 thoughts on “FREE PATTERN! Humpty Dumpty Puzzle Doll

  1. My 3 year old loves fairy-tales and nursery rhymes and he adores this toy! Like some of the other commenters I noticed the bum did not quite match up with the body/arm pieces. My chosen red yarn tends to work up a bit thicker and my blue a bit smaller, so I attributed the problem to that. I had the (rare) presence of mind to check the body pieces against the bum, and ended up increasing the bum up to 8 sc, 1 inc. This worked quite well. Thank you for creating and sharing this lovely pattern!

  2. Pingback: Week 1: Humpty Dumpty | Magnetic Mary

  3. Hi, Humpty is wonderful. Thanks so much. Would you mind checking the link please. I can’t get to the pattern. Thank you. Sue x

  4. Pingback: 30 Free Amigurumi Patterns Oombawka Design Crochet

  5. Hi there, such a cute pattern thank you! Ive got a couple of problems, i have been trying to make it for two days now and have re done the bum part twice now and it still doesnt look like whats in the video. Are you meant to stuff it?? The head size also looks smaller to whats in the video. I really want to get it right can you please check the pattern.

    • tried the pattern again and followed it word for word (with stitch marker and counted stitches), the red body wedges ended up too big for the bum section. Really sad i will have to give this up after all the time i put into it 😦

      • You are right, the bum is a little small for the body wedges. They don’t match up exactly. The head, body wedges, and bum together make the shape of an egg, and the body wedge portions represent the widest/thickest part of the egg, and the head and bum are narrower. When I’m putting Humpty together, the body wedges won’t stay on the bum unless I put the collar on top, so, yes, they are a little big. You can try increasing the head and bum to 48 or even 54 stitches around and see how that works for you. Please let me know if I can help further!

    • Thanks so much for asking, Emily! And I’m so sorry for my late reply! The pattern is correct as written — remember not to stuff the pieces too firmly. A light stuffing is all you need. If there’s too much stuffing, the pieces will bulge. For example, the bum will look more like a sphere than a half-sphere. Squeeze, tug, and mash the pieces until they are in the shape you want. Both the bum and the head increase to a max of 42 stitches, and (yes) they are a little small in comparison to the body wedges, which (together) have a larger circumference. If you want, you can try increasing the head and bum to 48 or even 54 stitches and see how that works. Let me know if I can help further!

  6. Thank you for sharing this lovely Humpty Dumpty for free. I am now working on his bum and found some possible error. The shape does not looks correct. In particular I see the wording “place eyes and stuff head now” on Rnd 12. Could you please check if the wrong instructions is pasted for the bum? Thank you very much.

    • Yes! That is an error. That wording should NOT appear in the Bum section. It was a copy/paste error. (How embarrassing! LOL) I’ve fixed it and linked to the updated, revised PDFs, so hopefully no one else will have problems. Thanks so much for bringing that to my attention!

      • I’m sorry you’re having trouble with it. I’m pasting the same comment I left to the person below: “You are right, the bum is a little small for the body wedges. They don’t match up exactly. The head, body wedges, and bum together make the shape of an egg, and the body wedge portions represent the widest/thickest part of the egg, and the head and bum are narrower. When I’m putting Humpty together, the body wedges won’t stay on the bum unless I put the collar on top, so, yes, they are a little big. You can try increasing the head and bum to 48 or even 54 stitches around and see how that works for you. Please let me know if I can help further!”

Leave a Reply

