CAL-ing and Reading Grown-up Books

Logo_wips_bips

Hey there! Time for another round of works-in-progress and books-in-progress.

Lately, I’ve really enjoyed making the afghan squares for Moogly’s CAL. I had to do a little catch-up.

Here is the Op-Art square by Jennifer Christiansen. This one was very soothing to work because the pattern was so easy to follow. Apparently, you can just keep going with the square, and it turns into a huge blanket.

CAL15

Here is the Flower Tile Square by Brownie Doodles. I love the big, bright flower in the center and the round of “leaves” surrounding it.

CAL16

As you can see, I’ve got a lot of blocking to do, but things are really coming along! Happy face.

CAL18

After reading (and loving) “Wonder” by R. J. Palacio, I decided that I needed to round out my reading list with something a little more mature. So, I chose “The Lowland” by Pulitzer Prize-winner Jhumpa Lahiri.

lowlandSo far, it’s been extremely interesting because I love learning about the customs of cultures different from my own, but my feelings about the book are conflicted. It’s set primarily in Calcutta and Rhode Island, chronicling the life of Subhash, an Indian man, and his relationships with his brother Udayan, his parents, and other folks who I won’t tell you about so I don’t spoil anything.

The characters are very cold and distant to one another, but the writing itself is very warm and alive, creating a disconnect (on purpose, I’m sure). I’m a little more than halfway through, and the most interesting theme for me so far is the idea of what makes someone a “real” parent. Does giving birth have anything to do with it? Or is a person’s real parent the one who raises them and loves them?

Anyhow, I might have to put this one on pause because I put a hold on “If I Stay” by Gayle Forman, and it’s my turn to check it out from the library. But it’s another young adult novel, and I’ve really overloaded on those lately. Have any of you read it?

QUESTION OF THE DAY

When you read books about cultures different from your own, which do you typically gravitate toward?


Oombawka

3 thoughts on “CAL-ing and Reading Grown-up Books

Leave a Reply

