Going Astray

Logo_wips_bipsMan! Because I’ve been on jury duty, I crammed a ton of errands (oh, and work, too) into yesterday, and I still feel like I have a ton more to do today.

So, here’s a quick and dirty update.

Moogly CAL Block 8: Princess by Melinda Miller. This pattern was truly a joy to follow. So well written, and I love the big bobbles!

CAL13

I’m starting on Block 9 (Op Art by Jennifer Christensen), and I had every intention of finishing it to show off today, but best laid plans…

CAL14

Last weekend when the hubs and I drove to Arizona for that youth seminar, I didn’t get as much crochet time in the car as I would’ve liked, but I did manage to whip up this tunisian crochet washcloth, and I’m pretty happy with it!

Washcloth1

It’s just a few rows of a single textured tunisian crochet stitch with a reverse single crochet border. The textured bits are bulky and raised — stray bits of food beware!

Washcloth2

And it’s so refreshingly easy to crochet a border onto tunisian crochet!

Washcloth3

When I get the time, I’ll write out the pattern. It’s super simple.

In the world of books, I’ve been listening to an audiobook version of Astray by Emma Donoghue — she wrote Room, which I read earlier this year.

?Û

The audiobook has been good for those long bus rides to the downtown Hall of Justice. It’s a collection of short stories about people who don’t really fit into society for some reason and who are not settled in a fixed position in life but who are instead moving around, in transition. So far, there have been stories about circus elephants, runaway slaves, runaway wives, and desperate immigrants. Their lives are in flux, changing, some for the better and others for the worse. Many are trying to escape. Others are being forced out.

It’s a very interesting theme for a collection of short stories. PLUS, they are all grounded in some type of historical fact, even though they are works of fiction. PLUS, the audiobook is fan-diddly-tastic. A different actor reads each story, and they all do some pretty awesome accents.

My favorite quote from the book so far?

“Her grammar makes him want to slap her, and take her in his arms, and cry.”

I must say, I’ve felt this way, too. But not about my spouse. Heh.

QUESTION OF THE DAY

What is your biggest grammar-related pet peeve?

Oombawka

Moogly HOHD
One thought on “Going Astray

Leave a Reply

