How to Make a ‘My Favorite Things’ Gift Bag {Great Last-Minute Gift Idea!}

Gift2

As you’ve probably noticed, I’ve been a little off my normal blogging schedule this week. So, I’m going to skip ColLINKtion and share something different instead!

I’m going to show you how to make a “My Favorite Things” gift bag. It’s my go-to gift idea when I need a present pronto.

Why is it called “My Favorite Things”?

Remember Fraulein Maria from The Sound of Music? Then you remember “My Favorite Things,” the song she sings to the seven naughty Von Trapp children when they’re scared of the thunderstorm.

When you give a “My Favorite Things” gift, you include a note on the outside of the box or bag that says:

Raindrops on roses,
Whiskers on kittens
Bright copper kettles,
Warm woolen mittens,
Brown paper packages
Tied up with string
These are a few of
MY favorite things…
…I hope you like them, too!

The gift itself is comprised of a few of your favorite things, whatever those things may be: candies, books, cards, kitchen gadgets, softies, nail polish, etc.

When should you give a “My Favorite Things” gift?

This kind of gift is best for casual gift giving, and I usually use it when I’m pressed for time — like I was yesterday. This is not an elaborate gift. It’s great for when you need to give a small but thoughtful present. Do not use this as your best friend’s birthday gift or your mom’s Christmas present. This is the perfect gift for when you have to give something but you’re not quite sure what and you don’t want to come on too strong. They are perfect for

  • Co-workers
  • Acquaintances, especially people who you don’t know very well
  • Secret Santas or Secret Pals
  • Thank yous
  • Small birthday or holiday gifts (when you don’t want to overwhelm the person)
  • When you have NO time!
  • It helps if the person is somewhat close to your age

What goes inside?

Your favorite things!! Seriously, it can be anything, but I always include between four and six little things. The whole thing usually costs me less than $25, and the end result is super thoughtful. Here are some rules of thumb for picking the goodies:

  • Don’t get junk! This is the #1 rule.
  • Don’t give secondhand stuff. It’s a small, cheap gift to begin with, so you don’t want to look like Scrooge by re-gifting things you found in your dresser drawer.
  • Get stuff that you’ve actually used and like
  • Get stuff that you would be excited to receive
  • Don’t try to coordinate the items. It’s not a themed gift basket. Think of it more like an awesome Christmas stocking.

OK, now that you know the ground rules, here are some specific ideas!

  • Beauty items: lip gloss, nail polish, loofah, clippers, face scrubs, soaps, etc.
  • Food: Chocolates, mints, gum, candies, herbs, mixed nuts, fruits, cocoa mix, seasonings, etc.
  • Kitchen gadgets: Peelers, hot pads, cupcake holders, dip bowls, mugs, etc.
  • Stationery: Good pens, blank cards, notepads, stickers, etc.
  • Reading material: Book, magazine, or newspaper
  • $5 Gift Cards: Starbucks, iTunes, Redbox, local place you love
  • Handmade by you!

The possibilities are endless. You’ll be surprised by how adorable these gifts are when they come together.

How do I put it all together?

I gave a “My Favorite Things” gift yesterday, and I took a few photos to show you how. (I MUST apologize for how blurry these pics are, though!)

First, I bought all the stuff and a bag to put it in. Here is what I chose:

Gift4

I love colorful cupcake holders ($1.99) and beautiful thank-you cards ($3.99). You can’t have enough of either of those things!

Gift5

I also can’t have enough notepads, and I thought this one ($2) was cute. I’m in LOVE with the Original Blue Bliss Body Bar ($3). It’s soap that literally smells like angels. It’s wonderful. I’m also crazy about Trader Joe’s dark chocolate covered cocoa nibs ($1.99). The only problem is that one tin lasts me like … one day.

Gift3

I also included a handmade ear-warmer! This is Moogly’s All Grown Up Ear Warmer. I was really happy with how it turned out, and I highly recommend the pattern.

Then, I made a tag with the song lyrics. I had literally five minutes to throw this together, so I just used regular cream card stock and wrote the message freehand — you can type it, though — and I snipped the corners off the rectangle and poked a hole at the top for the ribbon.

Gift1

I cut a teeny piece of satin ribbon and tied the tag to the bag handle. The “For You” tag came with the bag.

Gift6

And done!

Gift7

The next time you need to whip up a thoughtful gift in a hurry, try a “My Favorite Things” gift bag, and email me and tell me how it turns out!

QUESTION OF THE DAY

What is your go-to gift?

Moogly HOHD
9 thoughts on “How to Make a ‘My Favorite Things’ Gift Bag {Great Last-Minute Gift Idea!}

  1. Michelle, this is such a wonderful and thoughtful idea!! So meaningful for the recipient! Also I love “My Favorite Things”! Around Christmas time I was singing “brown paper packages tied up with string…” over and over again. It drove my husband crazy but that’s my favorite part of the whole song! haha

  2. This came at the perfect time! I am doing a brooch swap and wanted to include a few little extras but I had no idea what. My favorite things….a great idea. I will also include a link to your website on my card. Thanks for posting this.

  3. What a terrific idea! Thank you so much for sharing it! Do you shop as you need a gift, or do you keep some items (non perishable) on hand? I wish I had known of this idea when my kids were in Grammar school!

    • Thanks so much, Darlene! I hate to say it, but I usually shop as needed. I should really stock up on some of my favorite things so that I have a teeny stash on hand. It would definitely save me time. 🙂 If you ever try this idea, ping me a note and let me know how it goes!

      • I’m pretty much in the house all the time these days, and my kids are all adults now, but the first chance I get, I’m going to make this! I will let you know when I do & how it turns out! Thanks again!😃👍👏

Leave a Reply

