Grannies and Gauge

Logo_wips_bipsHere is my latest granny square for Moogly’s crochet a-long. It’s Veronica’s Rose by Melissa Green. Super pretty.

CAL8

So, you know when you start crocheting and then you realize, no wait, I want to use a different color for that row.

CAL5

And you undo all those beautiful stitches and try not to cry. Thankfully, I only had to undo one and a half rounds for this one.

CAL6

Here is what my four Moogly granny squares look like so far. I’m getting excited!

CAL7

I’ve been learning how important gauge is for tunisian crochet. I made a red square in a pretty diagonal stitch…

Tunisian2

…but it turned out a good inch and a half less wide than my original white.

Tunisian3

I think I’m finally going to have to buckle down and check my gauge. Ick. My least favorite step.

roomI decided to go ahead with Room by Emma Donoghue, and I’m getting near the end. The fictional plot is about a woman who is being held in a room by a man against her will. It’s one of those kidnapping-sex-slave stories. She becomes pregnant, and the story is told from the perspective of her 5-year-old son. It’s a sad story, but the son’s kiddie commentary keeps it light and often funny, which is a weird juxtaposition.

Donoghue describes how they live in the room, their routines, and their relationship with each other and with the guy who is holding them there. I’m constantly asking myself, “What would I do if I was in that situation?”

I’m going to stop there because I don’t want to give anything away.

QUESTION OF THE DAY

Do you prefer fiction or nonfiction?

9 thoughts on “Grannies and Gauge

Leave a Reply

