Tunisian Crochet: A Cry for Help

Logo_wips_bips

So, a few months back for my birthday, I ordered myself a complete set of bamboo tunisian crochet hooks. I know how to tss and do some of the other basic stitches. Look at this lovely 12×12 ivory tss square I made this past week (unblocked, of course). I’m just itching to embroider on it, but I haven’t decided what yet.

tunisian

Anyway, I want to go beyond the basics with Tunisian crochet. I’m considering investing in some classes and/or books. Does anyone have any recommendations??

I’m considering Jennifer Hansen’s Craftsy class, Tunisian Crochet: Revolutions in Color and Style. I’ve already been through all her Stitch Diva tutorials, which are excellent! Has anyone taken the class? Would you recommend it?

Do you know of any comprehensive books that cover lace and cabling and shaping garments and color changing? These books are the ones I keep seeing over and over, but I’m wondering if there is anything I’m missing. There are a ton of fantastic stitches in Robyn’s Crochet Stitches Visual Encyclopedia, which I am in love with. But I need some help with the big picture.

I don’t know about you, but there is nothing better than practicing new crochet stitches and making something useful at the same time. I’m thinking about a rainbow afghan made from tunisian 12×12 blocks. Here’s a little sketch. I’d make each colored square using a different tunisian stitch, and the picture squares would be embroidered tss.

idea

Or I could just make a bunch of pillows. 🙂

In other news, I finished Gone Girl. It was extremely interesting, but I’m kind of glad it’s over. It was weird being in the mind of a sociopath for that long. Anyone have any good recommendations for my next read? I’m considering Room by Emma Donoghue, but, again, it might be a little twisted for my taste. Not sure.

QUESTION OF THE DAY

How comfortable are you with tunisian crochet? Are you a beginner like me? Or are you a runaway expert?

Leave a Reply

