Squandered Time, Granny Squares, and Swears

Logo_wips_bips

So, last week, I tried to go to the library to see Marissa Meyer, who is fresh off the release of Cress, the third installment in her fairy-tale-sci-fi YA series. Apparently, the book introduces a character based on Rapunzel. OUAT is also adding Rapunzel to its lineup, so I hear.

So, I was pretty excited. Unfortunately, it turned out to be a night of misadventures.

The event started at 6:30 p.m., and my drive was supposed to take me about 20 minutes. Leave time for parking, let’s make it 30 just to be safe.

Southern Californians know that if you leave anytime even close to rush hour, you need to triple your travel time. Yes, triple. That means I’d leave 1.5 hours ahead of time.

But wait.

It was raining. Not pouring, just a light rain. But I still needed to budget time for that. Add an extra half hour.

At 4:30 p.m., I pulled out of my garage. I cruised onto the freeway onramp, and this is what I saw.

traffic

Hmm, let’s see if it moves…

It didn’t, not really. It took me almost an hour to go about five miles. But I still had an hour and a half left to get there…still doable?

Google Maps kept re-routing me off the freeway, so I decided to give it a try. I inched my way to the next exit, and the side streets were a complete mess. And I mean more congested than a toddler with Legos up his nose.

I missed turns. I lost my temper. I flipped Us. I self-righteously judged the other drivers in my mind. I made three right turns instead of one left. I called myself ugly names. It was approaching 6 p.m. Finally, I actually looked at my Google Maps app, and this is what I saw.

traffic

First off, I felt a burst of sympathy for everyone involved in the car accidents. And then I exhaled and set my wheels for home.

Catch ya next time, Ms. Meyer.

In other news, I started Block 3 in Moogly’s CAL. It’s the Hugs N Kisses 12″ Square by Aurora Suominen. I only got a few rows done before I ran out of mustard yarn, but I have a good feeling about this one.

Granny3

gonegirlAs for books in progress, I’m currently in the middle of “Gone Girl” by Gillian Flynn. I’m not big on mystery/thrillers, so this is a departure for me. It’s been thoroughly intriguing so far. Perhaps a more seasoned reader of this genre might be a bit more savvy, but I did not predict half of the many twists and turns that occur. I admit, I’m left with a very strong “guilty pleasure” feeling after a reading session

My only criticism: the overabundance of FOUL language. I don’t hear a lot of cursing in my world, so when I do, it makes me shrink like someone is yelling at me. I think I associate swears with anger, so that’s why they fall hard on my delicate little ears.

I’m interested to see Reese Witherspoon’s take on the book when the film starring Ben Affleck and Rosamund Pike comes out later this year.

So, what are you doing for Valentine’s Day?

My sweet hubby is taking me to see A Winter’s Tale at the Old Globe in Balboa Park. (No this isn’t a stage rendition of Mark Helprin’s novel. Hollywood has that one covered.) This play is all Bard, and it’s one of the lesser known and lesser performed Shakespeare plays. I’m not terribly familiar with it, so I’m really interested. If you’re a Once and Again or Helix fan, it stars Billy Campbell. (I’ve seen neither, so his TV fame will be lost on me.)

QUESTION OF THE DAY

Do you have to deal with a lot of traffic where you live?

Yarning Along with Ginny today…

Leave a Reply

