ColLINKtion: Breakfast at Tiffany’s

AudreyCrochet

I hope you all had a wonderful New Year’s! I was thinking about the glitz and fancy pants pomp associated with New Years, and my mind naturally wandered to classic silver screen beauties like Audrey Hepburn. That’s how I got inspired with the theme for this week’s ColLINKtion. I decided to try and find patterns that channel Audrey Hepburn’s fabulous style in “Breakfast at Tiffany’s.” And since the movie is based on the story by Truman Capote, my ColLINKtion still retains some literary value.

Have you ever read the novella? Or short story. I’m not really sure how it’s categorized. If not, the Los Alamitos School District has a nice, clean PDF of the full text. It’s fantastically entertaining.

So, here are my picks for the top crochet patterns for “Breakfast at Tiffany’s.”

Breakfast_at_Tiffanys

Now, let me say one thing. I know it’s impossible to truly reflect Hepburn’s larger-than-life iconic style in this film. I’m just playing around with patterns.

1. Holly Golightly Amigurumi Doll by Ana Yogui

Tiffany

There’s no way I could not include this adorable rendering.

2 & 8. Houndstooth Coat by Melissa Horozewski and Red Bulky Skullcap with Big Black Button {FREE!} by Pinar Vardar

Coat_Hat

These patterns reminded me of Hepburn’s “Things We’ve Never Done Before Day” outfit.

3. Long Lacy Wristers by Kimberly K. McAlindin {FREE!}

Tiffany7

Elbow-length gloves had to be included to complete the colLINKtion.

4. The “Audrey” Clutch by Sarah Horrocks

Tiffany4

Not only does it bear her name, but it totally looks like something she would’ve carried. And it matches the coat.

5. Crochet Dress Pattern Mini Dress 1960s Audrey Hepburn PDF Pattern (T127) by Heirloom Patterns

Tiffany9

An authentic vintage pattern for a very reasonable price. Just imagine it in black.

6. Headwrap by Rachael Oglesby {FREE!}

Headwrap

This reminds me of the “Moon River” scene where Holly looks drop dead gorgeous in a sweatshirt and jeans with her hair swept up in a towel.

7. Breakfast at Tiffany’s Sleep Mask by Crochet Kitten {FREE!}

Eyes

Made specifically as a nod to the film. What a great gift for a fan!

9. Audrey Hat by Christina Marie Potter

Huge wide-brim hats are a must. Just reverse the colors.

WideHat

Hopefully you had as much fun looking at these as I did collecting them!

QUESTION OF THE DAY

What’s your favorite Audrey Hepburn movie? “Breakfast at Tiffany’s” is high on my list, but so are “Roman Holiday” and “My Fair Lady.” (All the feel-good ones.)

One thought on “ColLINKtion: Breakfast at Tiffany’s

  1. Pingback: Making Whatever I Want | Book People Studio

Leave a Reply

