A Red Scarf for a Good Cause

WIPandBIP

I’ve taken a bit of a break from charity hats this week. I only added one to my stash, making it a total of (lucky) 13. I did read an inspiring post on Stacy Trock’s marvelous FreshStitches blog about the Red Scarf Project, a program run by Foster Care to Success. They collect handmade red scarves from donors and distribute them on Valentine’s Day to foster children who have aged out of the system and managed to enroll in college. As former foster kids, it’s likely they do not have families to help them navigate life, and a handmade gift on the holiday o’ love is just one thing that this organization does to help these youth.

So, I pulled out my brand new copy of Robyn Chachula’s “Crochet Stitches Visual Encyclopedia” and picked a stitch. I chose the angled stitch on page 6, and this is what I have so far.

RedScarf1

RedScarf2

I’m hoping it’s not too lacy to be considered unisex. All I have to do is increase the length, add a border, and voila! If you’re interested in participating, the deadline to send in your scarf is Dec. 15. See the project requirements here.

Other than this scarf, I haven’t been up to much, except that I’m proud to say I have all my in-laws’ presents bought and wrapped!

ChristmasGifts

Hooey! That feels good! We’re driving 9+ hours to see them for Thanksgiving, and we decided to cart the Christmas gifts along to avoid neverending lines at the post office next month.

Do you want to know what I think when I ponder our 9+ hour drive? I’m thinking, Which yarn am I going to take? Which patterns do I need to print? Who else needs a crocheted gift from me? Thank goodness the hubs likes to drive so I can be Productive Patricia. (I’m actually really excited for a marathon crocheting session.)

I hope you have a wonderful Thanksgiving tomorrow!

QUESTION OF THE DAY

How far are you traveling tomorrow? Will you crochet along the way?

Leave a Reply

