Off the Shelf: More Hans Christian Andersen

HCA1

I’m a sucker for Hans. Every time I see a book of his stories, I have to take a look — and most of the time, I have to buy it.

That’s what happened when I saw “The Classic Treasury of Hans Christian Anderson” at my local library bookshop.

The stories are retold by Margaret Clark and illustrated by Christian Birmingham. Copyright 2002 by Running Press for Hallmark. Yes, this is a Hallmark gift book. It’s massive, 10 by 14 inches.

As you may suspect, it’s devoted to his most popular stories, Thumbelina, The Nightingale, The Steadfast Tin Soldier, The Little Mermaid, The Little Match Girl, The Emporer’s New Clothes, The Ugly Duckling, and The Princess and the Pea.

The cover is totally uninspiring, so I wasn’t expecting to like the illustrations much, but when I looked inside, I was pleasantly surprised by some of the images.

You know the stories, so I won’t prattle. Hope you enjoy these!

HCA2

HCA3

I always love the illustration of the maid leading the court officials to where the nightingale lives in the forest.

HCA4

HCA5

HCA6

HCA7

Doesn’t this one just break your heart?

HCA8

HCA9

HCA10

HCA12

HCA13

QUESTION OF THE DAY

Do you think Hans Christian Anderson’s stories are mostly magical or mostly depressing?

One thought on “Off the Shelf: More Hans Christian Andersen

  1. Pingback: FROZEN!!!!!! | Just a Page

Leave a Reply

