Crocheting for Christmas Like Crazy

WIPandBIP

My hat-o-meter is now at 12.

That means I’ve crocheted a whopping one hat since last week. I need to step it up!

I took a break to crochet a pair of flower hats as a gift for two sisters who I got to know a few weeks ago. They live in Mexico, and I think they are two of the nicest people I’ve met in a long time. And nice people get hats with BIG friendly flowers on them!

FlowerHat4

The sisters will be at the Mexico Christmases helping to pass out gifts and food and shoes, and hopefully someone can transport these flower hats there, too, since I can’t make it this year. (Boo!)

I made up the actual hat pattern as I went along, but I used Skip to My Lou’s flower for the blue hat…

FlowerHat3

…and the marigold flower by DROPS Design for the pink hat.

FlowerHat1

Since it can get cold in Tijuana like anywhere else, I made sure both hats have a matching fuzzy lining.

FlowerHat2

I did also finish Josephine Wu’s Baby Mike and Sully for my nephews. I am so tickled with how they turned out. Here’s the big blue guy…

BabySully1

I must confess, embroidering his spots wasn’t nearly as tedious as I thought it was going to be.

BabySully2

Here they are — the odd couple.

BabyMikeSully2

I think there is a 17 percent chance that my nephews will appreciate these as much as I do.

On to BIPs…

I’ve finished “Harry Potter and the Order of the Phoenix,” and I’m on the waiting list for the next book. But that’s OK because I’m going to be busy reading THIS!!!

CSVE

I’m kind of afraid that God is going to take this book away from me because I love it so much. I just received it this weekend, and I’m literally drooling over everything inside. All I can say is thank you for being brilliant, Robyn Chachula. I liked your patterns even before I discovered that you were the Gustav Eiffel of the crochet world. Now I get to read all your amazing patterns and pretend you are my BFF.

QUESTION OF THE DAY

What Christmas gifts are you crocheting right now? Or, what books are your friends and family asking for this year?

Leave a Reply

