Off the Shelf: Ode to Waldo

I was a sucker for “I Spy” books when I was a kid. Not just the iconic and spectacular Scholastic series — any seek-and-find book. That’s probably why Waldo won me over so completely.

Where is he? Where is his cane? Glasses? Hat? His pup Woof? His gal pal Wanda? The dastardly Odlaw?

I spent many an hour ruining my eyesight trying to spot Waldo and the other items on the checklists in the back of the book. A fish catching men. A spiky crash. A thirsty lion. A snaky tickle. Four shy ladies being flattered. Prankish target practice. It’s easy to see why my juvenile mind delighted in the hilarity of it all. Oh, sheesh — I still do.

Sadly, I do not know what became of my childhood “Where’s Waldo?” books. So, when I saw Book Three at Costco a few years ago, I nabbed it.

Waldo1

Let’s take a walk with Waldo down memory lane, shall we?

Keep your eye out for Waldo and his friends.

Waldo2

The silly scenes and characters are what make the Waldo books so great.

Waldo3

Waldo5

Waldo6

Waldo16

Even just the funny faces are enough.

Waldo10

Snakes and ladders anyone?

Waldo14

There’s always some kind of silly romance going on, too.

Waldo15

My little mind loved how things like “swordfish” were taken literally.

Waldo12

And how even scary things like vampires and witches and werewolves appeared cute and cuddly.

Waldo9

I also like how intangible things are made tangible, like these flying musical notes.

Waldo8

And how role reversals make normal situations funny. Like fish hunting for divers.

Waldo11

Some of the funniest scenes are those with dramatic irony, where the characters can only see a limited portion of the scene, but the reader sees everything.

Waldo17

Waldo13

There’s always so much going on, even in just a small corner of the page. Like here.

Waldo7

Remember, no matter how impossible it may seem to find him…

Waldo18

…he’s always there.

Waldo4

QUESTION OF THE DAY

Did you grow up with Waldo, or did your kids introduce you to him?

2 thoughts on “Off the Shelf: Ode to Waldo

  1. Pingback: Off the Shelf: The Eleventh Hour | Book People Studio

Leave a Reply

