{FREE PATTERN} Movember Mustache Ring

Title1

Here is the peace offering that I promised you yesterday. It’s a FREE crochet pattern in honor of Movember.

Movember is kind of a big deal in my house. My husband goes from baby face to bushy face. We post the obligatory “My! How hairy you are!” photo on Facebook. Then he shaves off everything but the mustache and we shudder at how wrong it is. He goes to work for one day with the mustache and laughs it up with the rest of the guys. They call it Mustache Monday. Then razor meets rug, and it’s all over.

Do you celebrate Movember in your household?

Since my father is a prostate cancer survivor, Movember is dear to my heart. Thankfully, prostate cancer is slow-growing and easy to treat. A lot of prayers and one laparoscopic surgery later, my dad was back home (diapered) and on the mend. He’s been cancer-free ever since. (Thank you, Lord! Right?) Without the research and advancements in treatment, it could’ve been a very different story.

So, in honor of everything that Movember means to me — and to apologize for my months-long absence — I whipped up this funny ring. Since I, thankfully, cannot grow any substantial facial hair, the only way I can compete with my husband is with mustache (or is it moustache?) jewelry.

I hope you enjoy showing off your Movember pride.

Movember Mustache Ring

P1060466

Materials

  • Crochet thread (I used Aunt Lydia’s Classic 10 in black and Aunt Lydia’s Metallic 10 in gold. Some of AL’s size 10 thread, such as the Viscose Bamboo 10,  isn’t quite as thick, and it may result in a smaller ring.)
  • Size 7 (1.5 mm) steel hook

Ring Base

With gold, ch 21
Row 1: Sc in 2nd ch from hook and in each ch across (20 sc), ch 1, turn
(Note: Size the ring now. Wrap it around your finger, and if it’s not long enough, go back and add a few more rows to the foundation chain.)
Row 2: Sc in each sc across (20), ch 1, turn
Rows 3-5: Repeat Row 2, FO after last st, leaving tail for sewing

Mustache
With black, ch 10
Row 1: Sl st in 2nd ch from hook, sc, (hdc, dc, tr) in nxt ch, hdc, sl st, hdc, (tr, dc, hdc) in nxt, ch, sl st in last ch, FO, leaving tail for sewing.

Assembly

  • Sew short ends of the ring base together to form a circle.
  • Sew mustache onto ring base. You’ll have to shape the mustache a little bit. You can control how the mustache looks by how you sew it onto the ring. If you want the handlebars to turn upward, squish them into position, and sew them that way.

P1060463

P1060458

P1060465

P1060473

4 thoughts on “{FREE PATTERN} Movember Mustache Ring

  1. Pingback: Movember, Mr. Lookatwhatimade, and a Moustache Table Runner – Look At What I Made

  2. Pingback: ColLINKtion: Movember | Book People Studio

  3. This is so cute. Thank you for sharing your pattern. I am making one right now for my daughter (and probably one for me too) Because of your post on Pinterest and linkin to this pattern, I discovered your blog which is now in my faves. Thanks from West Texas.

Leave a Reply

