Stitch of the Week: Triangle Crochet

Boy, am I frustrated with myself. Not only do I blow off an entire week for my brother’s wedding, but I skip Stitch of the Week last week and I skip Off the Shelf this week. In my defense, I’ve been one busy lady. (That’s a good thing.) So, five minutes ago when something went kind of haywire with work and I realized I’d have some down time this morning, I came straight here.

Tail between legs.

Now that apologies are out of the way, onward to the stitch of the week. Actually, was supposed to be the stitch of last week, but, like I said, I’ve been busy. Without further ado, the triangle stitch!

Triangle3

Do you see the triangles? I feel like I’m holding up one of those Magic Eye books to your face, asking, “Do ya see it?” Thankfully, you don’t really have to look cross-eyed at this stitch to see the little triangular-shaped clusters.

The front…

Triangle1

…looks pretty much the same as the back…

Triangle2

…except that the ridges on the back are a little more pronounced, I think.

This photo gives you a better idea of the openwork involved in the pattern. There are gaps near the top “points” of the triangles.

Triangle4

I found the instructions on the New Stitch a Day website, which is a fantastic resource for video tutorials for knit and crochet stitches. Scroll down for the written directions for the stitch.

And to those of you in the U.S., I hope you enjoy Memorial Day on Monday with your friends and family. I’m very thankful that I’ll be spending the day with both.

One thought on “Stitch of the Week: Triangle Crochet

  1. I really like learning a new stitch a week! I am trying to build on these stitches so I can try to use some of them in combination with others. One thing I always try to do is to make a sample and attach a note with the name of the stitch and directions on how to make it!

Leave a Reply

