Stitch of the Week: Diagonal Cluster

I stumbled upon MoCrochet’s Alwine’s Dishcloth this week, and after taking one look at the stitch, I knew I had to try it. I’ve done a few patterns with diagonals, but not many, so it was good to get my hook around this fun technique. Check it out:

DiagonalCluster3

Here is my completed dishcloth (no time to block it = curvy edges). I enjoyed reading Melinda’s reminiscence of her grandmother, the pattern’s namesake. I love the personal touch.

DiagonalCluster2

I mentioned in my Solomon’s Knot post that I have a ton of variegated yarn that I’m loath to get rid of but that I don’t really know how to use — except for dishcloths and kitchen softies. So, whenever I find an interesting kitchen pattern, I run to that big bag of cotton yarn. Today, I used Peaches & Creme in Lilac Ombre.

DiagonalCluster5

I’m not going to reprint the pattern instructions here, but you can visit MoCrochet and get them for yourself. They are very clearly explained. The only part you may have trouble with is the diagonal itself. Here are some tips for that.

DiagonalCluster4

When you pull up the long loop, what happens is that you create a loop on the front and back of the piece. When you insert your hook, you actually YO behind the work, kind of crocheting “around” the cluster rather than exclusively in front or behind it. Here’s a picture of the back of the dishcloth. It looks the same as the front except that the diagonals go in a different direction.

DiagonalCluster1

If you insert your hook and then try to bring the tip of the hook to the front, you’re just going to get discombobulated and the piece will inevitably get turned around. Not that I know from experience or anything.

A few of these in a color-coordinating set would make a great little giftie. Hope you enjoy this pattern as much as I did. Thanks, Melinda!

DiagonalCluster6

Leave a Reply

