Free Eggs & Bacon Potholder Crochet Pattern

Eggs

Laugh it up in the kitchen with this Eggs & Bacon potholder. I’m a pretty patchy cook, so working in the kitchen isn’t something that I have a burning passion to do. So, if I can geekify my kitchen linens, it makes it more fun for me when I’m scratching my head wondering what to put on the table.

This free crochet pattern is a hot pad or trivet that depicts a couple of eggs and two slices of bacon atop a skillet. I can just hear them sizzling now.

Eggs_2

Materials

Worsted weight yarn (any kind) in maroon, gray, white, and yellow

J hook

Yarn needle

Project Notes

Egg whites and yolks are worked in spirals. The skillet bottom and top are worked in joined rounds. When joining rounds, do not turn after join; just keep goin’ in the same direction.

Instructions

Eggs whites (make 2)
Rnd 1: With white, make 6 sc in magic ring
Rnd 2: inc in each sc (12 sc)
Rnd 3: (1 sc in nxt st, inc in nxt) repeat around (18)
Rnd 4: (1 sc in each of nxt 2 sts, inc in nxt) repeat around (24)
Rnd 5: (sc in nxt st, inc in nxt) repeat 6 times, (sc in each of nxt 3 sts, inc in nxt) repeat 3 times, sc in final 3 sts
Rnd 6: (sc in nxt st, inc in nxt) repeat 6 times, sc in nxt 10 sts, inc in nxt, sc in nxt 13 sts
Rnd 7: (sc in nxt st, inc in nxt) repeat 7 times, sc in nxt 12 sts, inc in nxt, sc in nxt 13 sts
Rnd 8: (sc in nxt st, 2 sc in nxt) repeat 10 times, sc in nxt 5 sts, sl st to join. Finish off.  Leave long tail for sewing.

Yolk (make 2)
Rnd 1: With yellow, make 6 sc in magic ring
Rnd 2: inc in each sc (12 sc)
Rnd 3: (1 sc in nxt st, inc in nxt) repeat around (18) Sl st to join. Finish off, and sew yolk to egg white slightly off center.

Bacon (make 2)
Note: This is basically a one-row chevron.
With maroon, ch 23
Row 1: dc in 3rd ch from hook and in nxt 2 ch. (3 dc in nxt ch. Dc in nxt 2 ch. Dc the nxt 2 ch tog, dc in nxt 2 ch) repeat twice, 3 dc in nxt ch, dc in nxt 3 ch. Finish off, leave long tails for sewing.

Skillet bottom
Rnd 1: With gray, make 12 dc in magic ring (ch-2 plus 11 dc for total of 12) sl st to join
Rnd 2: 2 dc in each st around (24 dc) sl st to join
Rnd 3: (dc in nxt, inc in nxt) repeat around (36 dc) sl st to join
Rnd 4: (dc in each of nxt 2 sts, inc in nxt) repeat around (48 dc) sl st to join
Rnd 5: (dc in each of nxt 3 sts, inc in nxt) repeat around (60 dc) sl st to join
Rnd 6: (dc in each of nxt 4 sts, inc in nxt) repeat around (72 dc) sl st to join
Rnd 7: Working in BLO, dc in each dc around (72 dc). This forms a lip that will be the “side” of the skillet. Finish off, leave tail for sewing.

Skillet Top/Finishing
Work same as bottom, without finishing off after Rnd 7. Sew eggs and bacon to this top piece. Place on top of skillet bottom, and line up sts. Insert hook through nxt dc of both layers (top and bottom skillet), and sc in each dc around. This joins the top and bottom layers.

Loop
Ch 10, sl st in first ch to make loop. Ch 1, and work 15 sc in loop. Sl st in first sc to join. Fasten off, and leave a long tail so you can sew the loop to the back of the potholder.

6 thoughts on “Free Eggs & Bacon Potholder Crochet Pattern

  1. This is soo cute! I’m wondering though, on round 5 of the egg whites.. I got to the repeat 3 times but the SC in final 3 sts, I have no more sts! 😦 I’ve counted and recounted and the row before that gives u 24 and that row would be increased to 33 but row 6 seems to have 36 sts so I’m always 3 sts off after row 5. Have I missed something? Please let me know if I’m just having a moment here cz I find myself being ocd when it comes to crocheting and I wanna make it right! Thanks 🙂

  2. This is adorable! I’m definitely going to be making this. I’m always looking for cute and unique crochet patterns like this to make as gifts. Last year I made your Facebook potholders for several friends for Christmas, and the recipients LOVED them! Keep up the great, creative work!

Leave a Reply

